Turn me on, try it

I was warned that anti-depressants can zap one’s sexual drive and I did not think that this particular side effect would rattle me, but it does. On one hand it is nice not to be perpetually horny and unsatisfied. On the other hand I roll my eyes every time by husband reaches out to me and beg for a pardon.

When I told a friend that I switched to Lexapro she asked if it hurt my sex drive. Yes, I said, and so. I can suck it up (literally) when my husband initiates.

I just read an a letter to the sex editor in the NY Post by a husband who wonders how, after 13 years, he can encourage his wife to initiate. I think he should be grateful that she acquiesces every time. Prior to all of this…this being babies, loss of mom, sheer exhaustion, I used to initiate sex more frequently than my husband. I didn’t mind, but it was the rejection that stings.

There are times I want the coy cat and mouse game where I want his to persuade me and then there are the times that I just don’t want to do it. But I don’t think I ever flatly reject him as he once did for me. I know most of the time he did so out of his exhaustion but it still stings.

Leave a Reply

