Good Friends Let You Rant

As I debated how to handle my passive aggressive friend who sent the surprisingly rude email, I heard advice from a plethora of people. I had ranted to the few ears that would listen. The best advice came from both my grandma and husband. My husband said to let it slide as she was under a lot of stress studying for her med school board and my grandma said that I should remind her of what a close friend she is.

I changed my Facebook status to “confused about a snide email” and contemplated my next move. She called me and asked if my status was referring to her. I said yes. She went on to explain that she was peeved by two remarks I made the entire reunion weekend both of which involved rushing her along, one time when I was super eager to see my kids.

I’m proud of how we “argued fairly.” I listened to everything, agreed with the facts, but told her I thought she was being hyper sensitive and taking things out of context. Eventually she agreed noting that she was under stress and doesn’t get out much.

I could go into the details of how she wanted to put me on friendship probation and a few less flattering things that she mentioned. But we have are old friends and I know no matter what, I cannot shake our friendship. I’m sure on some levels she needed to vent because the test date is getting closer and her future is depending on her passing. So it doesn’t matter. I guess a good friend (me) will take the abuse from a friend that needs an outlet and not keep a scorecard of any snide remarks.

Perhaps that’s the secret to our twisted friendship.

Regardless, thanks to all for the support. I needed the reality check.

M

One Response to Good Friends Let You Rant

  1. hehe says:

    yes, this is a natural occurrence with friends that may have the I’m sometimes a bitch virus. It’s good you two communicated well and sorted it out :).
    -hehe

Leave a Reply

