It’s a boy

I have a new baby boy who is as handsome as a new baby can be. Unlike my last delivery, this one was not nearly as traumatic. My husband tells me I yelled the same things during the contractions.

This is not fun.
I don’t like this.
I really don’t like this.
I’ve had enough.

Of course, last time I remember pleading for more epidural, a cesarean, anything to stop the excruciating pain.

My water broke in the morning but that was not enough to deter my husband from going for a jog and leaving his cell phone at home.

I confess that I was a little surprised it was a boy. My sister spent several therapy sessions discussing her concern about having a son, I’ve only had a few days to consider it. So far, so great. My son is just a perfect little angel and my daughter has surprised me with her tenderness towards him. So, no complaints in that regard.

Of course, I cannot help but feel this gigantic void that my mom has left.

3 Responses to It’s a boy

  1. Vanessa says:

    delurking to say congratulations! Hope everything continues goes smoothly 🙂

  2. Mrs Pop says:

    Congratulations to you and your new family of four! My prayers are with you for your loss. I know it’s a rough time, but it’s a beautiful time, too.

  3. Cas says:

    Congratulations! Boys are wonderful!! This has to be a bittersweet time for you… just focus on enjoying every minute with your new baby boy.

Leave a Reply

