Fresh Meat

This past week I have been back on a college campus partaking in a writing workshop. It’s so refreshing to do something so independent. Nobody sees me as a mom. Perhaps they do, but not exclusively so. I am a writer first. And to some people a mother second, and to an even more select few, a pregnant mother/writer/dog owner.

The more serious and dedicated the writer, the more unkempt she appears. This applies not just to the students but to the accomplished teachers as well. It’s comforting that there is no pressure to dress up, yet when/if I do, I can stand out with little effort.

I’ve been showing off some flattering outfits for the evening performances, wearing my new wardrobe while it still fits.

The celebrities on campus, as far as I am concerned, is not that adorable college freshman who is working for the program, although he makes great eye candy, but rather the visiting writers whose works humbles me.

Leave a Reply

