The New 30

I remember when Madonna turned 40 and all of the magazines claimed that 40 was the new 30. What does that make 30? Not the new 20.

At 20 I was outgrowing my short bleached blonde hair, getting ready to graduate college. I was so full of youth, ambition and naivete. I still believed I could do anything. Well that gap of opportunity has definitely narrowed, but I am closer to some dreams.

I don’t remember what I wanted to accomplish before 30, but I am sure it had something to do with achieving more success as a writer. But I have a great husband, beautiful daughter and crazy pooch.

When I was 19 I dated a 32 year old who told me turning 30 was emotional. As the big day looms six week away, I am coping with my conflicting emotions.

One Response to The New 30

  1. O. says:

    Turning 30 was Awesome. I’m 37 now, and I know 40 is gonna be even better. Embrace it!

Leave a Reply

