It’s not ALL fun

A lot of motherhood is wonderful and rewarding. Yesterday when I came home, my daughter pulled herself up from the changing table to give me a hug and a kiss. I wanted to melt. There are lots of precious moments with her that stop me in my track.

But then there are the less than ideal times whether it is Baby screaming at the top of her lungs, refusing to let me cut her rapidly growing fingernails, twisting on the changing table making it impossible to put on a fresh diaper. The list continues.

I feel that I need to allow myself the freedom of not feeling guilty if I am not savoring every moment.

I know, I know, I am blessed. I have a GREAT HEALTHY child who sleeps and eats well. But I do love getting out of the house. I went away for a few days and had so much fun I nearly felt guilty for not feeling guilty. Upon returning, I wanted nothing more than to spend the day with my angel.

Freud Moment: I don’t think my mother ever felt guilty about leaving me and my two older siblings. Sometimes (many times) I resented her for having a life so independent of us and traveling. I think I am hoping to discover the sweet spot where I am happy and my kids will not feel dismissed or compartmentalized.

Leave a Reply

