I am just not into you

Sex and the City writers made a hit by having one of the characters say the obvious. He told Miranda that the guy who did not call her did so because “he is just not into you.” This overwhelming reaction to one of those “duh, of course” statements spawned a book and a movie by the same name.

When I talk about wanting to flirt and wanting attention, I do for purely egotistical purposes. I want attention. I want other people to confirm that I am appealing. I want to know that even though I am a mother, I have not completely traded in my identity.

Someone recently commented that I should “flirt online” on a yahoo site, post a photo of myself. Another commenter plugged her website for fellow milfs. Thank you, but no thank you.

I think there is a part of me that does not want to actively seek blantant flirting. I’d be devestated if I discovered hubby was doing that. Somehow, by writing anonymously here or smiling coyly at a hot guy in the elevator while hiding my left hand in my pocket is more innocent than pro-actively seeking someone’s attention. Besides, there is the other person’s emotions and feelings to consider. I don’t want to toy with that – mainly for karma purposes, but still… And I am a mom. I cannot open myself up to any sort of danger the way I once did.

So, perhaps that is why you won’t find my smoking picture on a website looking for more friends. no emotional cheating for me.

To some this may come across as hypocritical, but the balance works for me, and I guess that is what counts in the end of the day.

4 Responses to I am just not into you

  1. Jon Hlutke says:

    I am dating a girl that still loves her boyfriend. I am broke and still live at home. Any advice?

    Jon hlutke

  2. 1hpb says:

    Yes – get a job and make some money. The less interested you are in her, the more she’ll be interested in you.

    • Lame who has now chance of getting his woman back says:

      Its evident she dosent love him anymore Mr. Jon, if she did she wouldnt be with you miles away from her “insignificant other.” Keep your head up pal and remember the other boyfriends is down…probably in an old mans lap ; )

  3. Milburn says:

    It is inspirational article. Never knew that view could be this speckled. Thanks for every bit of keenness to offer such useful information here.

Leave a Reply

